2. UDOT News

Shane Marshall is Our New Deputy Director

UDOT Executive Director Carlos Braceras has selected his number two. Region Three Director Shane Marshall has been named the Deputy Director for the Department. With nearly two decades of experience at UDOT in a wide variety of positions, Shane is well-qualified for the position.

During his tenure as Region Director, Shane oversaw an unprecedented construction program and managed the Department’s responsibilities in six counties. Prior to his time as Region Director, Shane served as the Region Three Program Manager and as the Department’s Director of Environmental Services. In these roles, he oversaw the project schedule, budget and administration of UDOT projects and worked to address the environmental needs associated with delivering the State’s high-quality transportation system.

Shane not only has the skills and the experience, he also understands people.

“Shane started his career with UDOT right out of college and has worked in a wide variety of positions that helped hone his leadership skills,” Carlos says. “More importantly he has always been one of our most innovative thinkers with a knack for solving Utah’s transportation problems.”

As Deputy Director, Shane will be responsible to help Carlos lead UDOT’s 1,800 employees, as well as the design, construction, and maintenance of Utah’s 6,000-mile system of roads and highways.

“When I started my career at UDOT as a rotational, never in a million years would I have ever thought about or sought out this opportunity,” says Shane. “I’m humbled and honored that Carlos would pick me for this position and look forward to working with him and all of our great employees.”

Shane holds a B.S. in Civil Engineering from Brigham Young University and an A.S. in Applied Science from Utah Valley University. He has served on a number of national committees, including the Transportation Research Board’s Performance Measurement Committee and the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials’ (AASHTO) Standing Committee on the Environment.


Share this article to your social network: