1. UDOT
  2. About Us
  3. Operations Group
  4. Aeronautics Division

Aeronautics Division


About us

The primary purpose of the Aeronautics Division is to lead and manage a statewide transportation system of airports, aircraft, and air routes. The Division of Aeronautics promotes the quality of life framework established by the UVision for good health, better mobility, a strong economy, and connected communities. We accomplish this through six core functions:

Core Functions

  1. Airport System Planning
  2. Aviation Rule Making
  3. Airport Project Funding
  4. Aircraft Registration
  5. Aviation Promotion
  6. Aviation Safety

Featured Services and Opportunities


Vision

Elevate Life

The State of Utah’s motto is “Life Elevated.” At the Division of Aeronautics we “Elevate Life” for Utah residents by creating an aviation system that connects communities in every corner of the state.

Mission

  1. Integrate Aviation into the Transportation System
  2. Enhance Community Economy
  3. Lead Utah into the Future of Aerial Transportation


Points of Contact

Jared Esselman, A.A.E.
Aeronautics Director
Email:  jesselman@utah.gov
Phone: 801-715-2262

Matt Maass
Economic Development System Planner
Email:  mmaass@utah.gov
Phone: 503-847-7176

Amber Pace
Support Services
Email:  apace@utah.gov
Phone: 801-715-2272

Greg Peterson
Chief Pilot
Email:  ggpeterson@utah.gov
Phone: 801-715-2269

John Gatherum
Aircraft Pilot
Email:  jgatherum@utah.gov
Phone: 801-715-2275

Martin Shupe
Aircraft Registrations
Email:  mwshupe@utah.gov
Phone: 801-715-2264

Craig Ide, P.E.
NPIAS Asset Manager
Email: cide@utah.gov 
Phone: 801-715-2274

Paul Damron
Advanced Air Mobility / Non NPIAS Asset Manager
Email:   pdamron@utah.gov
Phone: 435-592-5139

Scott Romney
Workforce Development, Emergency Response, and Communications Manager
Email:  scottromney@utah.gov
Phone: 801-660-0733



Events